Day 3

I ended yesterday well.  I got on the ‘mill for 12 minutes and hopefully today will do 13.  I went on a 2nd time actually, just to up the step count.  I don’t know how long I was on for, maybe about 5 minutes.   But yesterday I did 6310 steps.  The main difference between yesterday and the day before, I think, is just the fact that I had the pedometer for the whole day.  With buying it during lunch on Monday, I missed half the day and I did try to estimate with walking into the office and then back out for lunch, but I missed all the extra steps.  The ones to the copier and to the mailroom and of course, to the restroom.   This does make me happy, though.  Finding an additional 3690 steps does not seem as daunting as finding 6000 more steps.  

I do need to get better at the calories.  I think I was over the 1700 by about 100 yesterday.  The simple process of me turning oxygen into carbon dioxide and doing absolutely nothing else burns 1835 calories a day.  Adding in the fact that I do more than just sleep 24 hours a day puts me around 2332 calories per day that I’m burning just by living life.  I’d like to eat around 1500 and get up to burning about 200 which will put me at a net deficit of over 1000 calories.  That’s where I’d like to be.   I’m not nearly at burning the 200 calories yet, but I’ll get there.

I think I’ve also realized I need to cut down on my sodium intake, because you can’t drink 64ozs of water a day and eat a lot of sodium or you just retain it, which is something I think I’m running into.  I thought my body just needed to adjust to the higher amount of water, which is probably part of what’s going on, but making food choices that just keep it in my body is probably not the best choice.  

I’m going to fill up my cup for the first time today and in a few minutes will make my half a peanut butter sandwich (I need to figure something else out for breakfast…  sodium…  which makes me so sad.  I’ll check the label, maybe it’s not as bad as I think, I’ll keep my fingers crossed on that). 

Have a wonderful day and as always, please say hello.  It really does make a difference.

Amy

Leave a Reply

